23 August 2015

JUNO CHART - August 2015

For anyone that's interested, my latest Juno Chart can be heard HERE.


1. KEVIN McPHEE . TW EP (WNCL Recordings)
Of course I was going to put this at the top of my hit parade! An unashamed banger that puts other unashamed bangers to shame.


2. FRITS WENTINK . Live fast Dwayne Young (Bobby Donny)
I've become quite the fan of Mr. Wentink. This is the debut release on his own label and the lead cut is as quirky as you like. 


3. ART OF TONES . Rainbow Song (Local Talk)
I'll always check Local Talk's prolific output and anything by S3A but, surprisingly, I'm all over the original mix on this release. Wish I could place that sample though...


4. SPATIAL . Emergence #1 (Infrasonics UK)
"Hela" packs a mighty kick and bass wallop in this first part of a trilogy, marking the welcome return of Spatial's legendary Infrasonics label.


5. JC LAURENT . Southside EP (Hidden)
It's a double whammy of a B side on this 4 track EP. "Witness" comes on like a vintage David Alvarado cut from 95. "Hoax" brings the heavy funk.


6. SILKIE . Fractals (Anarchostar)
Silkie's fast becoming the only interesting voice from the dubstep landscape that I still keep a keen ear out for. Possibly the only person that's got the chops to pull off a space opera LP too.


7. SOUND STREAM . Bass Affairs (Sound Stream)
Usually a buy on sight label for me, I initially passed up this latest Sound Stream offering. I changed my mind after hearing "Sweep Magic" on a system in all it's nostril-flaring, sub bass glory though.


8. MR TOPHAT and ART ALFIE . Dub The Rub EP (Bass Culture)
It goes thump for quite a while, breaks down for a bit and then kicks off. Sometimes, I'm not really looking for a peak-time, dance-floor focussed House track to do much else really.


9. VARIOUS ARTISTS . Art and Sound 2012 - 2015 Record B (Soul Jazz)
Both double albums of material from the Sounds of the Universe label are expertly curated and well worthy of your pocket money.


10. LADY BLACKTRONICA . Oh So Cold EP (Meda Fury)
Meda Fury always come with something interesting. I've been mostly playing "Akua's Heart" which closes this EP with some otherworldly tribal business.


16 August 2015



WNCL Recordings 5th Anniversay celebrations continue with a vinyl back catalogue sale...

All 10" releases (WNCL 001 - 010) reduced from £7.00 to £5.00
All 12" releases (WNCL 011 - 023) reduced from £8.00 to £5.00
All vinyl sales come with free mp3 bundle
Sale ends Monday 14th September

Head over to the WNCL BANDCAMP page

13 August 2015

JAMIE XX - Roots

JAMIE XX showing support for the Library cause in his latest Boiler Room set from a new nights back, which features "Roots" from my 8 TRACK CARTRIDGE double 12" EP on Hypercolour.

Read about it on PITCHFORK
Watch it on DAILY MOTION
Check the TRACK LIST
Buy 8 Track Cartridge from Hypercolour's BANDCAMP

11 August 2015

WNCL024 - RA News

RESIDENT ADVISOR bringing you the news of the Kevin McPhee 12" for WNCL Recordings this week.

Read all about it HERE

06 August 2015


To help us celebrate 5 years of WNCL Recordings, Kevin McPhee has returned to the label - and this time, he's on the creep...

LABEL: WNCL Recordings
ARTIST: Kevin McPhee
FORMAT: 12" Vinyl / Digital
RELEASE DATE: 18th September / 25th September 2015

A1: TW (Original Mix)
A2: TW (Acapella)
B1: TW (West Norwood Cassette Library Remix)
B2: TW (C.E.O Remix)